Creative Industry Practice: Collection Project, Deconstructing Design workshop

In this CIP workshop our first task was to pik out a book cover and to analyse what components build the cover I chose the cover of The Book of Other People by Zadie Amith and cover design by Darren Haggar and Illustrated by Charles Burns.

I began my printing out the cover and pointing out things like the grid system used and the type of text and the measurements between the compartments.

1.jpg

I then started using what I knew from the cover to assemble one in the same style with indesign. I started by generating the same grid and then dropping in images from the walking dead comics due to the similar style. I then added in the banner of colour, title and author name.

2

Here is the finished result of this exercise.

3

I think this was quite useful has atleast helped me to see the benefits of using/ showing the grid in a design.

 

Leave a Reply

