Creative Industry Practice: Collection Projects, Thoughts of the week Alan Fletcher

Our Latest thought of the week have been aimed a lot towards layout design for the first part of this weekly thought we have been asked to identify examples of good layout design and bad layout design. (although in my opinion its all personal preference really)

The first layouts I picked are from the book The Magic of M. C. Esher. The first picked out 2 layouts that I didn’t like in this book.The first layout I chose is a double page spread showing Eshers wrok as thumbnail images the reason for my dislike of this is simply the fact that the more detailed images are lost when reduced to this size.mc esher book 1.jpg

The second layout  I also disliked as it is an image of an elderly man that is spread over two pages and due to the curvature of the paper the face of the man is almost completely hidden.

mc esher book 2.jpg

We were then asked to give our own thoughts on layout design and were asked questions like do you have a standard practice when creating a layout? this was a good way to be able to analyse my own work to see if there is a recurring process to my layout designs. This however raises the question am I doing it right or wrong?

To answer this question I thought it would be best to simply draw up a layout as I usually would and simply annotate my thinking during this. What I wrote was that when thinking about layout in terms of text I think one of the most important aspects is the texts position for example if it is too close the the spine will it be hidden from the reader or distorted? I would say this is the same for images however I have seen examples of layout designers using the curvature of a page to help exaggerate an images features such as in this page of Arbitare Architectural journal.

arby.png

After this part of the weekly thought i then watch a video provided on weblearn of Alan Fletcher talking about his book looking sideways we were asked to write about what we think of his process. One thing I noticed immediately was the interactive value Fletcher places on the design of the book by adding the contents to the book jacket and having it orientated sideways so that if the viewer wants to read that information the book has to be held and skewed to be read. He also talked about creating miniature versions of the books pages in a flat layout plan to try and help give the book a pace similar to a movie with very simple parts building up to more complex parts. So it would seem that Alan fletcher holds alot of value in the interactive entertaining aspects of the book and the experience of the viewer when reading. I think most of all the miniature layout method could be helpful if I try to apply it to my own work.

alan-fletch-man

Leave a Reply

