Mark Making 2

My group recently had another mark making workshop were we had to try and use different materials and techniques of mark making to depict the skyline we could see from our studio window I thought this was a good project because it gave us a lot of creative freedom and allowed us to try different things that we hadn’t done before and to see what kind of effect certain materials and techniques can have.

The first thing we had to do was pick a section from the windows in the studio and sketch the skyline it didn’t have to be an exact replica just as much like the skyline to be able to tell what it is.

Here is my sketch of the view I saw I found it difficult to sketch at first because I was trying to make it look as much like what I saw but I realised that it would take forever to get it perfect and decided to just go with the basic shapes of the buildings.

skyline sketch

I then went on to re-draw it in indian ink with a small paint brush, unfortunately I didn’t get the result I wanted because I intended on the lines for the bottom of the buildings to be quit think and for the tops of the buildings to be very fine.

skyline indian ink + brush

I then inverted this image so that the buildings would be black and the lines around them would be white I made two of these and added bleach to one of them to see how it would effect the ink.

One of the last things I did was make a stencil for the tops of the tallest buildings and then spray different coloured inks onto the paper here is my result.

skyline ink spray

Leave a Reply

